The House was built just before 1600 on the street that was originally called Ragg Street due to links with the cloth trade. The house was home to merchants and businessmen who wanted to work and sleep by the bustling harbour.
In the Victorian period, the House was a slum, housing up to 58 people at a time. 32 New Street was rescued from demolition in 1926 with support from the people of Plymouth, and opened as a historic house museum in 1930.
It is currently being restored again by two internationally experienced companies with funding from Plymouth City Council, the National Lottery Heritage Fund, Historic England, the Coastal Revival Fund and The Pilgrim’s Trust.
Plans are being made for an immersive visitor experience, which will introduce real residents of the House over 300 years, from Richard Brendon, a wealthy Elizabethan merchant, to Amelia Cooksley, a Victorian fisherman’s wife. Visit New Street and the Elizabethan Gardens to experience Plymouth during the time of Sir Francis Drake and the Mayflower Pilgrims.
Find out what’s in store here.