Smeaton’s Tower was originally built to sit on the Eddystone reef, a treacherous group of rocks that lie 14 miles south west of Plymouth, in 1759, but was later taken down when it was discovered that the sea was eroding the rock it was standing on.
Stone by stone approximately two thirds of the structure was moved to it’s new housing, in pride of place on Plymouth Hoe where it stands at 72 foot high, or 93 steps internally (23 stone, the rest are ladders). Smeaton’s Tower provides striking views of Plymouth Sound and the city from its lantern room. This room, along with the rest of the lighthouse, has been carefully restored to its original glory.
Originally lit in October 1759 by 24 candles, Smeaton’s Tower no longer provides a warning to passing ships, instead stands as one of Plymouth’s most recognised landmarks.
Open to visitors and licenced as a wedding/civil ceremony venue, the lighthouse has a maximum capacity of 9 persons.